Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is the ACT easier than SAT?

paulfoersterpaulfoerster Posts: 381- Member
edited April 2009 in ACT Preparation
Is the ACT easier than the SAT? My SAT scores are pretty bad, but I'm a really good student and have a great memory
Post edited by paulfoerster on

Replies to: Is the ACT easier than SAT?

• lildude3077lildude3077 Posts: 249Registered User Junior Member
    In My opinion, the questions on the ACT are more simple and easier to understand.
    However, you are given far less time to complete them. You have to be continually moving.

English- 45 Minutes for 75 questions.
    Math- 60 Minutes for 60 Questions
    Reading- 35 Minutes for 40 Questions
    Science- 35 Minutes for 40 Questions

If you pause for a minute, especially in reading and science, you're dead meat. On the SAT, you're usually given more than a minute a question, so if you zone out, it's still bad, but not as bad.

I add that memory would probably help you out more on the SAT, which tests rote memorization of vocabulary. You don't really need to memorize anything for the ACT.
  • nichols08nichols08 Posts: 126Registered User Junior Member
    Its very worth it to give it a try!

Take a practice test and see how it goes!
  • paulfoersterpaulfoerster Posts: 381- Member
    how hard is the science part?
  • Twenty8Twenty8 Posts: 476Registered User Member
    I think most people would agree that science is the hardest section to master; the time limit really makes it difficult.
  • OptimizationOptimization Posts: 1,085. Member
    What does the science part cover? Biology? Phys science?
  • Twenty8Twenty8 Posts: 476Registered User Member