Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Getting into college with a low GPA

eventhorizeventhoriz Posts: 5Registered User New Member
edited October 2013 in College Admissions
I graduated high school in June of 2011 with a GPA of 3.04 (unweighted). As I applied to college, the issue of my low GPA was always in the back of my mind. I had a stellar application, but I was always a little anxious. As it turns out, I could have got away with a lot less worrying.

As of right now, I've been accepted to six schools, rejected from two, waitlisted at one, and am still waiting to hear back from seven.

Accepted:
University of Rhode Island ---(Psychology) [In-State]
University of Vermont
(Psychology) [Presidential Scholarship]
University of Connecticut
(Physiology & Neurobiology) [nearly full ride*]
Syracuse University
(Psychology) [$17,000/year]
American University
(Psychology) [waiting on financial aid package]
George Washington University-(Psychology) [Waiting on FinAid package]

Waitlisted:
Northeastern University
(Psychology)[huge surprise, both parents are alumni]

Rejected:
Harvard
Bowdoin

I'm still waiting for a lot of responses, but it's evident that I won't be without some possibilities.

I decided to post this because I know that applying to college is a pretty stressful time, and that stress is exponentially greater if you have a low GPA. I would like to invite anyone to ask me questions or spark a discussion. If I can impart any advice, feel free to ask. My hope is to be able to give a little confidence to anyone who needs it.

I'll fill in any details anyone wants to know about my record. I would have written them all down, but I'm not even sure if anyone will read this, let alone respond.