Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Quick question!

KalebGetsMoneyKalebGetsMoney Posts: 15Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in College Admissions
Ok so I have a bit of a dilemma. I plan on being an investment banker out of college and realize that I need to go to a top-notch school. I am currently an african-american sophomore in highschool with a 4.0 uw and a 4.16 w. I just took the PSAT and expect to do well because I am very good at standardized testing. The thing I'm worried about in the college admissions is that I am only in Geometry (because I didn't have my head on strait in middle school) and will be on track to take Pre-Calc my senior year. How will this affect my chances on getting into a top school? What can I do about this? Should I load up on electives the rest of the year and then double up on math next year? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Post edited by KalebGetsMoney on

Replies to: Quick question!

• SuperSeniorx2SuperSeniorx2 Posts: 26Registered User New Member
    Hi KalebGetsMoney,

I was in your situation before. I was worried of not being in an advance mathematics class, so I worked hard in my current math class. Afterwards, I request for the professor to sign off or allow me to move up to a higher class than the expected class I was suppose to take (when choosing classes for the next term). If you can do well and prove yourself by earning a high grade in geometry, is there a chance you will be allowed to move up to an advance class? Just thought this could be a suggestion. Well, competitive universities like to see AP/IB courses in the transcript. Are you taking any of these?
  • KalebGetsMoneyKalebGetsMoney Posts: 15Registered User New Member