Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Suggestions for safety schools for an above average int. student

AnarchistHudaAnarchistHuda Posts: 131Registered User Junior Member
edited November 2012 in College Admissions
Well, I graduated valedictorian last year. But my school has a really retarded system of NEVER granting anybody perfect scores. So even though I am valedictorian, my overall GPA is 3.69
I graduated a quiet hard school, tho..
My weak stats are probably in the English part of SAT..
SAT: 1990
Math: 700
CR: 610
W: 680
Toefl: 106
Bio-E: 730
Math 1: 750
(Taking physics & math 2 in December)
My ECs are quiet strong: I volunteered at a school in a remote rural village for five months, I am a Rotarian, I had an internship at a software design company, and I campaigned a lot for a human rights movement in Egypt.
Also, I swam for the junior national team of my country for two years. Then u got injured and started training for crew. I actually row for a major club now, and I qualified in a boat that will row at nationals next January..
That is pretty much all of it..
I applied early to Dartmouth & WPI, but I am not having much faith I'll get in..with enough aid (I need lots of aid, really)
& my counselor keeps on telling me to add safety schools to my list, so can u guys suggest something for me??
Oh, and I am majoring in engineering. But I actually included a couple of LACs to my list, that have a 3-2 physics-engineering program..
So if u have an LAC in mind, don't hesitate to tell me!
Post edited by AnarchistHuda on

Replies to: Suggestions for safety schools for an above average int. student

• happymomof1happymomof1 Posts: 19,383Registered User Senior Member