Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Are four reaches enough for international applicant?

RaysGatorsFanRaysGatorsFan Posts: 139Registered User Junior Member
edited November 2012 in College Admissions
I am an international student from Poland and I apply for engineering to

Georgia Tech
Purdue, West Lafayette
Texas-Austin
Illinois Urbana-Champaign

English is not my first language and my SAT scores are:
760 math
590 writing
470 reading (aiming for 550 in December)

I am in my senior year of high school and I take following classes:

IB math HL
IB physics HL
IB English B HL
IB chemistry SL
IB geography SL
IB Polish SL
IB TOK

Poor ECs although I was involved outside of classroom.

college board matched me Purdue, I do not know how reliable it is.

Do you think I get in one of those four schools or I have rather slim chance and should consider more reaches?
Post edited by RaysGatorsFan on

Replies to: Are four reaches enough for international applicant?

• happymomof1happymomof1 Posts: 19,263Registered User Senior Member
    What do YOU mean by "reach"?

Here, "reach" means a place where you might be able to be admitted, but there is no certainty. "match" means a place where you are reasonably certain that you can be admitted (at least 50% chance of admission). "safety" means you know for certain that you will be admitted AND that you can pay for it. The truth is that no one needs to apply to reaches, or even to matches. If you want a college education, all you need to find is a safety.