Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
We've just launched our new college search tool at http://www.collegeconfidential.com/schools. Use this form to provide feedback as we continue to work toward a more robust solution to best meet your needs.

Do I need to worry about my Spanish grade if I want to do engineering in college?

pongoponpongopon Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
I'm a freshman and lately I have been very stressed about my Spanish grade. I was wondering if that will affect my chances in getting into a good college, where I want to focus on engineering. The rest of my grades are high A's, but my Spanish grade keeps changing between a 90 percent and an 89. If I don't get an A, I will lose my 4.0 GPA. Will this majorly affect my chances of getting accepted to a good college?

Replies to: Do I need to worry about my Spanish grade if I want to do engineering in college?

• DadTwoGirlsDadTwoGirls Registered User Posts: 1,751 Senior Member
    edited May 19
    Good college, no problem. Very good college or very good university for STEM, still no problem.

For Harvard or Stanford, maybe, or maybe not. It is hard to know. However, Harvard and Stanford are a very long shot for everyone, including students who have straight A+'s. Personally I wouldn't go to Harvard for engineering anyway.

Do as well as you can, and don't worry about it.

Does your high school give you a 4.0 if you have a grade of 90?
  • pongoponpongopon Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
    My high school does give a 4.0 for a 90 percent