Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Schedule conflict

Vortex2Vortex2 Registered User Posts: 2 New Member
I'm an incoming sophomore in a competitive high school. I have a 4.0 weighted and 4.79 unweighted GPA. I am trying to decide whether I should continue to take band or take a class called independent research. Here are the pros to each class

Band:

It will be easier to maintain my 4.0 bcuz band is an easier class

Band and Independent Research are both 5.0 classes, and since band is easier, I'm getting the same GPA for less effort

I am passionate about my instrument and want to continue it through high school to demonstrate my commitment and dedication

Independent Research:

Independent research is a class that makes ur transcript stand out because independent research sounds compelling

If i don't take independent research now, i won't be able to do it until 12th grade because 11th grade is tough with all the AP classes and standardized tests going on.

Anyways, bottom line, I'm scared that I might lose the 4.0 if i take Independent research because its a lot of work

How would each choice effect my college admissions?

Replies to: Schedule conflict

• SybyllaSybylla Registered User Posts: 1,184 Senior Member
    independent research sounds compelling<<<<<<<<<

What does it actually mean? For example, in my kids school it is a study period. Define research.
  • guineagirl96guineagirl96 Registered User Posts: 3,556 Senior Member