Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

National Merit Commended Cutoff

salpertsalpert Posts: 823Registered User Member
edited October 2007 in College Admissions
I'm an Arizona student and I scored a 211 on my PSAT last year. I know the National Merit isn't announced for a while, but if I was 98th percentile, not 99, does that mean I'm not even going to be commended? Or can 98th percentile still be commended?
Post edited by salpert on

Replies to: National Merit Commended Cutoff

• kyledavid80kyledavid80 Posts: 8,093Registered User Senior Member
    I'm pretty sure you'll get commended. It's different for each state, but you should with a 211 in Arizona.
  • salpertsalpert Posts: 823Registered User Member
    Oh great! 212 was 99, and 211 was 98, and I was really worried I'd missed it by one point. I hope I can still be commended.
  • aquamarineeaquamarinee Posts: 3,028Registered User Senior Member
    You'll find out soon... in September
  • Johnson181Johnson181 Posts: 4,142Registered User Senior Member
    I thought commended was a national cut-off rather than state by state...
  • phonyreal98phonyreal98 Posts: 1,967Registered User Senior Member
    I think it's 200 in NC.
  • you'llsee...you'llsee... Posts: 4,535Registered User Senior Member
    commend cutoff score is nationwide: usually around 202.

so anyone in the US w/ a 202 or higher will be commended. However, the cutoff score to be a semifinalists is different for each state.
  • sesses Posts: 2,027Registered User Senior Member
    Commended is by state. Most commended students in MA would be semifinalists in the vast majority of other states.
  • jrparjrpar Posts: 2,083Registered User Senior Member