Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is a 3.8 GPA is pretty high GPA? Or is it low?

moviefreak126moviefreak126 Posts: 372Registered User Member
edited May 2009 in College Admissions
I'm a pretty good student but in my sophomore year, I got a C+ and a C in two different subjects, respectively. Because of this, is my GPA lower than like a 3.8? My school follows the whole GPA/4.0.

Since I think that the highest GPA I can receive is a 3.8-4.0 in my junior and senior year, is that a good enough GPA, a 3.8? I've got friends whose GPAs are like 4.3. They are pretty damn smart!

I'm looking at DUKE university, UVA, UofC, Boston U, USF, UNC-CH, UCSD, UCLA, UCI, and possibly USC.
Post edited by moviefreak126 on

Replies to: Is a 3.8 GPA is pretty high GPA? Or is it low?

• madvillemadville Posts: 1,100Registered User Member
    Most likely depends on your "unknown" competition. You could check the previous admission profiles to schools you are considering and or the common data sets.
  • happycollegemomhappycollegemom Posts: 1,170Registered User Senior Member
    moviefreak~ you didn't give any info on rigor of your classes(APs, honors, etc.)also, how you write your essays, standardized test score, recs,ECs all matter. since you're from CA you know the UC system better than i do, but as far as Duke and UVA, need to know other stuff about you. for UVA, OOS a 3.8 is low, but as i said, don't know the aforementioned. good luck.
  • happycollegemomhappycollegemom Posts: 1,170Registered User Senior Member
    same comments for UNC-Chapel Hill
  • WeskidWeskid Posts: 1,288Registered User Senior Member