Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Highest-level math course

sqdwfe13sqdwfe13 Posts: 1,261Registered User Member
edited April 2009 in College Admissions
Would it hurt me a lot at selective colleges if the highest-level math course I took was Precalculus before I graduated?
Post edited by sqdwfe13 on

Replies to: Highest-level math course

• ModulationModulation Posts: 1,877Registered User Senior Member
    It can be... Most expect four years, and I think precalc is like three years.
  • Secret Asian ManSecret Asian Man Posts: 2,497Registered User Senior Member
    Most do like to see (and some even require) at least one year of calculus. Others only wish to see four years. Depends on the school.

It certainly won't help.
  • skateboarderskateboarder Posts: 541Registered User Member
    just take AP stat, its a joke of a class. i love it.
  • light10491light10491 Posts: 1,174Registered User Senior Member
    my friend skipped pre calc this year and took ap calc bc in her junior year, whereas most people take it in their senior year

and to graduate u have to have 4 years of math, and she already maxed out all the math available seeing ap calc bc is the highest level

so she applied to ap stats to fulfill the requirement

and results came out thursday as who got in, or was waitlisted for ap stats

and i was like uhh jinzhao it says here u are waitlisted

and she was like WAHTTTTTT HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE (SPASM)

then i was like jk

ok that was random lol
  • sqdwfe13sqdwfe13 Posts: 1,261Registered User Member
    Ok, but what if I took 4 years of math including: Honors Geometry, Honors Algebra 2, Honors Precalculus, and AP Statistics? I'm doubling up on Honors Precalc and AP Statistics.