Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Worried about dropping a course

MrFoster46MrFoster46 Registered User Posts: 34 Junior Member
Hi y,all!

I'm a student at St Edward's University in Austin, Texas. I would have posted this in our own sub forum, but I think we're too small to have one lol.

On to my question. I took 18 hours this semester, which I now realize was a mistake. Accounting is my hardest class this semester, and it runs until 6:15 P.M. I want to drop for two reasons, 1.) Because I'm doing very poorly in it, and 2.) I desperately need time to work and make money. I have a single parent and am paying for all of my expenses on my own, except health insurance because I have a rare disease.

My concern is that I want to go to grad school. Ideally I want to attend law school, but I realize for man people, possibly myself included, that dream never comes to fruition. Will having a W on my transcript severely impact my chances? I do not plan to have more than one W, and have never dropped a course before. This was a mistake on my part that I am doing my best to learn from it.

I was rejected from my dream university almost in February of 2016. I remember what that felt like, and I'm doing my best not to put myself through that experience again.

Thank you :)

Replies to: Worried about dropping a course

• zannahzannah Registered User Posts: 507 Member