Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Failed first test

meagan44meagan44 Posts: 180Registered User Junior Member
edited October 2010 in College Life
I am a freshman at a small LAC and had my first test in Neuroscience 101. I studied for about 25 hours, however, I failed the test. Is this normal? Do a lot of freshman, or college students in general, fail tests?
Post edited by meagan44 on

Replies to: Failed first test

• easilyjadedeasilyjaded Posts: 10Registered User New Member
    When you say "failed", what do you mean? A 60? Lower? Is the teacher grading on a curve? Did he show the class average?

When you said "studied for 25 hours", what do you mean by that? Did you study efficiently? Did you just pretty much stare at the textbook? What were your study methods?
  • XX55XXXX55XX Posts: 1,014Registered User Member
    Staring at a textbook for 25 hours doesn't constitute studying.

Sometimes, depending on the course, staring at a textbook helps a lot. In other cases, not so much...
  • meagan44meagan44 Posts: 180Registered User Junior Member
    I didn't "stare at a textbook" for 25 hours. I made a study guide, said the stuff out loud, things like that. I guess I don't know how to effectively study though
  • DnationDnation Posts: 327Registered User Member
    I never failed a test... ok, maybe that one time, but that was because I stared at the tasteful illustrations of the textbook for 25 hours.
  • rymdrymd Posts: 1,055- Member
    I failed my honors physics midterm today.
    there's no need for sarcastic comments
  • poetgrlpoetgrl Posts: 12,455Registered User Senior Member