Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is freshman year the last chance to make friends in college?

screwediamscrewediam Posts: 7Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in College Life
Im an international freshman in college. Its friday night and I have got nothing to do! Its been 2.5 months now and i don't really seem to have any friends. Although Im very close to my roommate in the sense that whenever Im sad, I talk to her and she always consoles me. I must mention here that she too is pretty much friendless. She too is international (but not from my country) but she did her high school from US and had many american friends in her HS.
Anyway, I do have a couple of friends that I made from class projects. And while we are working on the project, we have a great time and lots of fun! But we never hang out besides those group meetings. I'm international so initially I used to be very reserved and shy. Sometimes when people used to smile at me, I used to look away out of sheer nervousness. I guess it makes a lot of people think that I'm cold. But what do i do now to make amends for all that i screwed up! I must mention here that now i have changed a lot and have improved a lot on my social skills. And I do have acquaintances but I have no one to go out with on fridays! and that feels terrible.
can anyone tell me whether its possible to make friends the second semester or was the first semester the last chance to make friends? Is freshman year the last chance to make friends in college?
Post edited by screwediam on

Replies to: Is freshman year the last chance to make friends in college?

• intparentintparent Posts: 13,266Registered User Senior Member