Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Do Grades Matter in College? Plz Help. Confused transfer student

nabilsyed0nabilsyed0 Posts: 5Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in College Life
I go to UC Davis in CA and i am a transfer student from a community college. This is my first quarter here and after hearing different advice from everybody about what's important to accomplish in college I am really confused

I am a Managerial Economics major but i am not a hundred percent sure what I want to do as a career yet. I am a VERY sociable person, I am very good at starting a conversation with anybody regardless of the situation. So I don't think communication skills are going to be a problem. I was intially thinking of maybe doing Finance or Accounting but I do not want to sit on a computer or do paperwork the whole day. So now im leaning more towards maybe Marketing, Human Resources or maybe an administrative job.

I haven't done any internships yet. The only jobs I've had were at fry's electronics and a banker at wells Fargo for a summer job

I am pretty sure that i want to go on to grad school ( maybe get a MBA ) but like i said Im not a hundred percent sure yet. I most likely will because everybody has a bachelors degree these days and i've heard that employers look for prospective employees who have further education.

There is only so much time in the day. What should i focus on? How important are internships compared to grades? Should i join a fraternity? ( Even though it seems all they do is party and waste time doing stuff for the fraternity. Not to mention the enormous costs). I am only going to be here for a little more than 2 years so I want to make the most out of this opportunity