Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Deciding on whether or not to drop a class

rderoserderose Posts: 1Registered User New Member
This past semester I was faced with the decision as to whether or not to drop a class. I’m a graduate student and the class was an advanced course on a subject that I wasn’t very good at. In fact, it had been about 10 years since I had study the topic as part of my undergraduate degree and frankly, I was happy to have passed that class then by the skin of my teeth.

But I wanted to learn this subject and I really wanted to try, however I was afraid. Afraid of failing and what that would mean. The fact is, the subject was in my major, so I ought to at least be able to pass it, right? Afraid that it would hurt my GPA. Afraid that if I didn’t get at least a B, my company wouldn’t pay the tuition. Perhaps, my boss would find out.

What does it mean if I fail? It doesn’t mean much. It certainly doesn’t mean that you aren’t good or can’t be good at something. There are plenty of things that were really hard in the beginning, but over time I got much better at them. It may however, mean that you don’t have the background education needed to be successful in the course. If you fail, maybe it simply means that you bit off more than you can chew. Anyone should be able to live with that.