Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

philosophy.. hard?

xjenephaxxjenephax Posts: 14Registered User New Member
edited June 2007 in College Life
okay.. so i'm deciding on taking philosophy as my major~
and i was wondering if it's really hard?
because i just want to major in something i'm going to get straight A's in (because i want to go to law school.. and law schools don't care what you major in as long as you get straight A's)

i'm a writer type of person.. i hate math & science
so is philosophy a good major?

(oh.. i'm going to uci this fall.. so if that matters.. i think majors are different in various colleges?)
Post edited by xjenephax on

Replies to: philosophy.. hard?

• ozymozym Posts: 296Registered User Junior Member
  • Fides et RatioFides et Ratio Posts: 902Registered User Member
    Philosophy is a great field of study, a cornerstone (along with Classics) of the classical liberal arts education, and excellent preparation for law school (law schools like philosophy majors). Is it easy? No. But it is probably the most intellectually rewarding major a student could undertake. If you're into philosophy, you will have fun with it.
  • xjenephaxxjenephax Posts: 14Registered User New Member
    thanks~
    err.. i just spent the last 40 mins. just reading up on philosophy as a major and english as a major
    i think i'm gonna go w/ english~
    i have no idea why i overlooked that major.. haha
  • OptimusPrimeOptimusPrime Posts: 336Registered User Member
    I hear some classes in philosophy -- particularly the logic type stuff -- are great for the LSAT, though. Something to consider.
    honestly xjenephax, from what my friends have told me about law school you need strategy.