Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

How hard is it to double major?

g30rg3g30rg3 Posts: 178Registered User Junior Member
edited April 2010 in College Life
How much harder is it to double major than to just declare one major? How much more would the workload be if, say, I double majored in biochemistry and French than if I majored in biochemistry and minored in French?
Post edited by g30rg3 on

Replies to: How hard is it to double major?

• MagnetoMagneto Posts: 601Registered User Member
    depends on what you define harder as. I know for most schools, majoring in french or any language requires at least 8 french classes outside the beginners while minoring only requires 5 with the beginners (101, 102, and 3 more). so to answer your question, its pretty much going to be more classes to take for the actual major than minor but it is doable. Good Luck
  • 1 Sky Pilot1 Sky Pilot Posts: 558Registered User Member
    Not hard if you plan ahead and the fields of interests are somewhat similar. Since biochemistry and french are so...unrelated....I would major in one and minor in the other.
  • justtotalkjusttotalk Posts: 939Registered User Member
    You'll just have less electives beyond the gen ed. Way less in this case, because there's 0 overlap.

Gen Ed is probably 30ish credits, each major is probably around 30, and biochem probably has outside science requirements (physics? obviously chemistry/ochem). So maybe you'd have like 20-25 credits of optional classes while in college, depending on how much gen ed and your majors overlap.

If you do this route, I'd recommend taking as much gen eds as possible the first semester or two, so that if you change your mind at least your credits are useful.