Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is it worth getting a 2nd degree?

EugeneMEugeneM Posts: 2Registered User New Member
edited January 2011 in College Search & Selection
Hi,

I've been debating if it's worth going back to college or not. I got a local diploma from HS in 2003 and went to Pace University in NY the following September. I admit, I never liked school but I struggled through it. I wasn't looking forward to college because I assumed it was the same nonsense as HS. Don't get me wrong, I like learning but sometimes you aren't taking anything different or interesting.

The reason I went to Pace was because my father and sisters graduated from the same school. In fact my dad loved that school for so much he end up working there. So, I got a big discount, so saying no to almost free education seemed kind of stupid.

Well, 51/2 yrs. I left with a BFA in Fine Arts. The reason I left late was because some classes weren't available. But I have to admit something, I didn't learn much. I mean, I got a good GPA and I got decent grades. But I hated that school because there wasn't a program I identify with. Closest was a BFA in Fine Arts. But quality wise, I would rate it slightly better than H.S. and content to be seriously lacking.

I actually stopped art after leaving.

I'm trying to get back in to it but it's emotionally disappointing.

I was thinking of going back to college a different one. Because after leaving I haven't found a single job. I applied online only, most career builder, monster, etc etc.

I was thinking of going to
https://www.mercy.edu/academics/school-of-liberal-arts/department-of-music-and-fine-arts/bfa-in-computer-arts-and-design-cart/

This one has computer art.