Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

How hard is Harvard?

AlexAukAlexAuk Posts: 7Registered User New Member
edited April 2013 in College Search & Selection
I am an above average student, but by no means would be accepted into Harvard by academics alone. But I am getting recruited hard to play football there. Since they don't actually have scholarships for football, but can basically push your application through, if they "offer" me
should I consider Harvard or will it be too hard academically for me there? I would be a low band player if anyone comprehends that. :/ Also I plan on being in the FBI, so how important is it to be at such a prestigious school to be accepted into the FBI?
Thanks
Post edited by AlexAuk on

Replies to: How hard is Harvard?

• FlyMeToTheMoonFlyMeToTheMoon Posts: 1,716Registered User Senior Member
    The courses will be quite challenging. The valedictorian from my D's school got her first C there freshman year.
  • cbamengelcbamengel Posts: 58Registered User Junior Member
    Do not pass up an opportunity to attend Harvard because of concern over course rigor. You will have access to extensive support services and resources to get you through the tougher times, and you'll be glad to have that Harvard diploma when searching for careers.
  • GeekMom63GeekMom63 Posts: 1,957Registered User Senior Member
    Do not pass up an opportunity to attend Harvard because of concern over course rigor.
    Seconded, vigorously.

But you don't mention money - can your family pay what Harvard expects them to pay? Harvard offers fantastic need-based aid, but if your family has high income, can they meet what Harvard expects them to pay?