Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
College Confidential’s “Dean,” Sally Rubenstone, put together 25 of her best tips. So far, the "25 Tips from the Dean" eBook has helped more than 10K students choose a college, get in, and pay for it. Get your free copy: http://goo.gl/9zDJTM

How to balance numbers of schools vs casting a larger net for best outcome (admission/aid)?

MomtoAndrew2018MomtoAndrew2018 Registered User Posts: 136 Junior Member
I am still fairly new to this process. I am trying to help S build a good list of schools to apply to and would like to hear your thoughts on this.

I read that in general, students should keep the list short, up to 8 schools. As of now, we have 19 schools sitting on the "List of colleges I am thinking about" in S's Naviance.

S is a B+/A- student. Due to his so-so stats, I feel compelled we need a bigger list for the following reasons:
1) To boost his chances for admissions to as good of a school as he could get into;
2) To cast a larger net for a bigger fish - I am talking merit aid, even if it is just a few thousands (our EFC is so high, S does not qualify for need-based aid for most of the schools on our list)

19 is too many. But 8? That is too short of a list. Am I crazy? How do I balance this list?

Replies to: How to balance numbers of schools vs casting a larger net for best outcome (admission/aid)?

• MomtoAndrew2018MomtoAndrew2018 Registered User Posts: 136 Junior Member
    @NEPatsGirl Thank you!