Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
We've just launched our new college search tool at http://www.collegeconfidential.com/schools. Use the following form to provide feedback as we continue to work toward a more robust solution to best meet your needs: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/CCSearchSurvey

Transferring to a cheaper school?

HixonsHixons Registered User Posts: 13 New Member
Hello
I am an incoming freshman student at Cornell. In a series of unfortunate events I lost my full ROTC scholarship to Cornell due to a severe peanut allergy. My family has enough money to pay for one year of Cornell. At this point my options are to attend Junior College or go to Cornell for a year and attempt to transfer out. I understand Cornell is academically challenging, but highly ranked. If I can get through freshman year with at least a 3.0, would transferring to cheaper schools be possible? I know transferring with a lower GPA would be difficult, but would the Cornell name help at all? I'm thinking along the lines of UCLA, Cal poly SLO, UC Davis; any decent school I could afford. Would just going to my local community college be better than wasting a year at Cornell?
Thanks!

Replies to: Transferring to a cheaper school?

• DadTwoGirlsDadTwoGirls Registered User Posts: 1,695 Senior Member
    A year at Cornell with no scholarship is going to be VERY expensive. The cost of this does not seem worthwhile to me if you know that you won't be able to continue.