Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Options with a Masters in Hydraulic Engineering?

MileHighEngineerMileHighEngineer Posts: 8Registered User New Member
edited February 2013 in Engineering Majors
Hi all,

I'm in my last semester of civil engineering and I'm planning on continuing in the fall with a masters degree in hydraulic engineering/fluid mechanics (since I'll get either a TAship or RAship and get it paid for). As an undergrad who has spent the last 3 and a half years under a rock in the academic world, and who has next to no "real world" knowledge and experience, can anybody tell me what my options are besides civil engineering? It's not that I don't want to go into CivE, it's that I don't know what it will be like out there when I finish! I'd just like to have some options! I enjoy learning fluid mechanics and using the physics to model systems so I know I want to go to grad school for it (plus it's free).

Is it typical for a graduate with an MS in hydraulic engineering/fluid mechanics to do something outside the civil engineering discipline? Possibly something in mechanical or petroleum engineering? Or any engineering for that matter? I don't know too much about it, but it sounds like petroleum engineering involves fluid mechanics and whatnot, especially when fracking, so it would seem like a viable option. Plus they make bank, haha. Any help from engineers out there in various industries? Thanks!
Post edited by MileHighEngineer on

Replies to: Options with a Masters in Hydraulic Engineering?

• MileHighEngineerMileHighEngineer Posts: 8Registered User New Member