Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is it even worth going out of state if you're very poor?

grigg02grigg02 Posts: 404Registered User Member
Hi, I'm trying to decide whether going to an out of state school is even worth the $$. I am a pretty average/decent student, lives in Washington, and I applied to schools like: Western Washington, University of Washington, University of Missouri, Penn State University, University of Wisconsin - Madison, and Boston University. I know BU is a private school so I probably wont end up going if I did get in. I'm not sure if I can even get in University of Washington since my grades are like borderline (same goes for PSU and UW-Madison). I got accepted into University of Missouri but I'm not sure about the aid yet. I know for sure that I will get a TON of aid from Western, my sister goes there and only pays about 5K per year.

My family makes under 5k and it worries me thinking about that HUGE load of debt I will get myself into. My dad is really pushing me to go Penn State or University of Wisconsin IF I don't get into University of Washington. I just don't think it's really worth going like 100k+ in debt especially since my family is extremely poor. My dad says it's fine and a degree at those schools will get me good money but I honestly think going to a state school like Western Washington will be just as good as long as I put my effort into it. I'll only consider going to an out of state school IF I have to pay near 15k a year, but no more than that. What do you guys think? This is so frustrating.
Post edited by grigg02 on

Replies to: Is it even worth going out of state if you're very poor?

• swimcatsmomswimcatsmom Posts: 15,078Registered User Senior Member