Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Unsupportive parents, loans without cosigner?

quadomaticquadomatic Posts: 196Registered User Junior Member
I'm a premed student in a BA/MD program (guaranteed seat into medical school). I'm in my 2nd year now. I have good grades (4.0) and am doing pretty well for the most part.

I was intending to graduate in the Spring of 2012 (during my third year, so one year early). Now I'm also considering staying in undergrad for the 4th year and/or applying to graduate school in the UK. However, my parents are less than supportive...I was told today that they won't cosign any loans. I never intended for them to be responsible for paying anything after my 3rd year of undergrad, but I thought they would at least cosign.

So, now I need to find out what I can do to pay for a 4th year of undergrad and/or grad school in the UK without support. I don't have a background that would help for need-based scholarships (Asian Indian, parents make a decent income). It seems that I can only rely on merit-based scholarships and private loans. A year of undergrad is about $13.5k(tuition, differential, fees)+room/board+books,etc. I can take $7500 from federal direct loans.

Is it possible for me to get a private loan without a cosigner? I'm 20 years old. I've had a credit card for about 5 months now (in my name only). I basically have the next year to build credit and save. I have a research job that pays $10.08/hr and I work 17 hours a week (plan to work 20 hrs/week in the summer).