Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Is Financial aid Pell Grant considered earned or unearned income ?

wayneluu91wayneluu91 Posts: 30Registered User Junior Member
Hi everyone,

I am new with all these taxes and stuffs, I have no clue. I don't know where to ask this too so I hope you guys will help me with this, although it's a little bit off topic here.
So I have been receiving Pell grant : $5550 and Cal grant: $1500 for 2011-2012. I've also been working under Work Study since the last couple of months of 2011. The school just sent me the W-2 form which says that I only made $662 in the year of 2011, and the Federal Tax Withheld is zero(they did not take any tax from my paychecks) . I did not claim anyone on the W-4 form (the form I filed before starting working). I stated in a form of my school that I am a dependent student. So, do I have to file the tax return for 2011 ?
In the instruction for Form 1040, it says :
"Single dependents. Were you either age 65 or older or blind?
No. You must file a return if any of the following apply.
• Your unearned income was over $950.
• Your earned income was over $5,800.
• Your gross income was more than the larger of—
• $950, or
• Your earned income (up to $5,500) plus $300."

I am confused here. If Pell grant and Cal grant are either considered earned or unearned income, I have to file the tax return. Is that right ? But are they earned/unearned income ?
In case I must file a tax return, which form should I use ?

Thank you guys a lot, I would appreciate any help.
Wayne.
Post edited by wayneluu91 on

Replies to: Is Financial aid Pell Grant considered earned or unearned income ?

• swimcatsmomswimcatsmom Posts: 14,999Registered User Senior Member