Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Should I take out student loans for a prospective environmental engineering major?

littleicefishlittleicefish Posts: 54Registered User Junior Member
I'm currently a college sophomore and recently got accepted for transfer to a public in-state university SUNY Buffalo. I've been going to a CUNY school and commuting. If I accept the offer, I'm planning on majoring in environmental engineering.

I don't get much financial aid, so I will take loans if I end up going, but I'm worried about the debt and paying it off later on. I will most likely have to stay four years instead of two because I don't have enough pre-requisites so I will have to pay four years of tuition costs.

I don't know what will happen in the future and what if the work becomes too hard or too much for me to handle?
What if the work becomes too hard and I have no choice but to switch majors?

I'm not the BEST academically gifted student but definitely not the worst either.
I consider myself an average student, but I believe that if I really work hard at it, I can do it.

Generally estimating, I'd probably take out $30,000-40,000 for my entire four years.

Would taking out the student loans be a good investment for me?? I need some financial advice! ( Most of my friends who actually attend SUNY Buffalo don't even have to take out student loans -_- )
Post edited by littleicefish on

Replies to: Should I take out student loans for a prospective environmental engineering major?

• Iron MaidenIron Maiden Posts: 1,838Registered User Senior Member
    How much have you taken in Stafford loan already?