Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

TAP need parents information?

chocolatecherubchocolatecherub Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
Hey, I just had a quick question. I just filed for TAP but it required me to input my parents information, but I'm an independent student with a child. Why did it require that information?

Replies to: TAP need parents information?

• sybbie719sybbie719 Super Moderator Posts: 20,700 Super Moderator
    edited August 7
    Because true independence for TAP does not happen until you are 35.
    When are you starting school?
    Do your parents make over 80K? if no you may still be eligible for TAP even if you use your parents income.
    Did you apply for an excelsior scholarship? if yes and you are eligible, the scholarship will cover the balance of your tuition after PELL.
    HESC wrote:

What are the basic conditions an applicant must meet to be considered independent?
    The basic conditions are:
    has not resided and will not reside with parents for more than six weeks; and
    has not and will not receive financial assistance or support valued in excess of $750 from parents; and
    has not and will not be claimed as a dependent by either parent for purposes of either federal or state income tax.

What are the special conditions to qualify as an independent student, and what proof do I need to send?
    Condition: You are a ward of the court (not including status as an inmate).