bbtitle]
» CC HOME » FORUM HOME

Go Back   College Confidential > College Admissions and Search > Financial Aid & Scholarships
New User

Welcome to College Confidential, the leading college-bound community on the Web!
 
Here you'll find hundreds of pages of articles about choosing a college, getting into the college you want, how to pay for it, and much more. You'll also find the Web's busiest discussion community related to college admissions, and our College Visits section!

You are currently viewing the site as a guest.
Registration is simple and easy, and provides full site access.

Join our FREE community:

  • Post and reply to topics
  • Talk privately with other members
  • Participate in polls
  • View less ads
  • Remove this welcome message

 REGISTER NOW

Discussion Menu
»Discussion Home
»Help & Rules
»Latest Posts
»NEW! College Visits
»NEW! Stats Profiles
Top Forums
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Financial Aid
»SAT/ACT
»Parents
»Colleges
»Ivy League
Main CC Site
»College Confidential
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Paying for College
Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2008, 01:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 148
What is the College Financial Advisory?

I'm a freshman in college... and my parents got a letter in the mail from the College Financial Advisory. What is it? Is it a scam to get money? They ask me to enclose a processing fee of $48.
artsavedmylife is offline   Reply   
Old 03-28-2008, 01:23 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 254
Google turned this up: http://www.collegiatetimes.com/stori..._tech_students
thricedotted is offline   Reply   
Old 03-28-2008, 07:49 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 148
Thanks a lot. That's what I guessed, but I wanted to make sure.
artsavedmylife is offline   Reply   
Old 03-29-2008, 07:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,350
We received this too! It really made me angry. It had my D's school's name in a little form at the bottom of it, it definitely looked official, and I could see how folks could get duped by this. The only reason I knew it was junk is that it had nothing from the school itself (logo, address, etc.) on it. And, the school's financial aid policies recently changed to deliberately eliminate the loans they were talking about on the letter. I think people should complain to the BBB or something. I would, but I think my DH threw the letter away.
franglish is offline   Reply   
Old 03-29-2008, 11:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,238
We got this letter today, and I am really not happy. How the heck do they know what school my daughter attends?! That's the part that really upsets me. They had to get that info from somewhere ... and considering that the government is getting our ss#'s when we file the FAFSA or take out Stafford loans ... it really peeves me that some scam company has access to this info.
kelsmom is offline   Reply   
Old 03-30-2008, 07:53 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 191
Please be aware of these scams. When dealing with loans, usually schools have their preferred providers. Not that they may have the best rates available (always shop around), but they have experience working with the school and make the process a bit easier. Recommend that you first speak with your banks and see if they have an educational dept. If not, there are many reputable companies out there.
atg4ever is offline   Reply   
Old 03-30-2008, 08:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,350
Follow up to my post #4: I looked on several schools' financial aid sites and saw a warning to folks about this particular company. So, I emailed my D's school's fin aid office yesterday morning (Saturday) and told them about this. I was very pleasantly surprised to get a return email within a half hour that said they were very grateful for my "heads up," and that the school's legal services department was on it. Whatever they can do, I don't know. But this school was going to put the same warning on their page about this company. Apparently they had the warning last year.

I was worried, too, about the letter having her name and school on it. But we thought about other things that we have gotten. For instance, there is a company that sells bedding supplies to many schools, and we have gotten that info. Also, we have gotten a letter from a national company that sells care packages at various times, and that, too, was customized. Maybe companies like this buy lists, as other mailing houses do. I really hope that our numbers are protected, and I guess we have to trust that they are.

BTW, the other scam to watch out for is FAFSA.com. I fell for that one last year! Luckily, I was able to reverse the order, but these companies are very sly and weasly.
franglish is offline   Reply   
Old 03-30-2008, 01:30 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 84
Thanks for the information. My parents don't really speak English and they were like I need to fill this out for school. I'm glad that I took the time to look this up. It makes me really angry that companies are preying on people with official looking forms.
tj9854 is offline   Reply   
Old 06-24-2008, 03:59 PM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
that sucks i gave them money already, i'm new to college so i didn't know. I was wondering why i did not get notice within 10 days and was planning to call them.

i feel like cracking some heads now
Silly guy is offline   Reply   
Old 01-23-2009, 03:39 PM   #10
eab
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
College Financial Advisory

It is a new year. The mailing has started again.
eab is offline   Reply   
Old 04-02-2009, 02:06 PM   #11
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
I cant believe that people could be that cruel and completely try to take advantage of us like that.......................

I wanna beat the S*** outta them!!!!!
jtkt07 is offline   Reply   
Old 05-30-2009, 09:44 PM   #12
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
yeah ...

me too !!


grrr...
adachi is offline   Reply   
Old 10-13-2009, 05:32 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 239
I just got a letter from this "company" and thought it was suspicious so I check on here, thank God.

Theres a number listed, tommorow I'm going to call them just so I can yell at them - If they are an illegitimate company, how are they still able to send these mailings out? I mean the phone number to call them even works, the government should be able to do something, I think it would cost must less to close this company then they are stealing.

Plus I'd like to see these guys in jail, (frankly I would prefer to have them beaten until they are crippled but unfortunatley thats illegal).
bcarvings is offline   Reply   
Old 10-22-2009, 08:30 PM   #14
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
thanks all you guys for your information. i received the same letter which says it was from college financial advisory and asking me to send them a check of $59 for processing fee.
i am confused why peoples do that to each other.
bikila is offline   Reply   
Old 11-04-2009, 03:31 PM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
is it possible for me to sue this scam company??
hakeim is offline   Reply   
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Copyright 2001-2009, Hobsons, Inc., All Rights Reserved