Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Do I Count as an In-State Student

kinglinkinglin Posts: 2,296Registered User Senior Member
edited August 2008 in Financial Aid & Scholarships
I'm an undergraduate out-of-state student at a public institution. If I was to pursue a masters at the same school, would I be considered an in-state student?
Post edited by kinglin on

Replies to: Do I Count as an In-State Student

• thumper1thumper1 Posts: 36,224Registered User Senior Member
    Probably not. But you would need to check the state requirements. Usually you cannot establish instate residency WHILE you are enrolled in college.
  • happymomof1happymomof1 Posts: 19,218Registered User Senior Member
    Check with the university. The rules may depend on your sources of funding. Are you paying for this graduate program yourself, or will you have an assistantship of some kind?

Back in the last century when I was a grad student in the ag. college at Cornell, those of us who had funding through research or teaching assistantships were encouraged to claim NY state residency. After I looked at the advantages (not many as far as I could tell) and disadvantages (a whole bunch more paperwork to file every year having to do with state grants of funding for my tuition, etc.) I opted out. So did almost all the other out-of-staters in my department.
  • sk8rmomsk8rmom Posts: 5,746Registered User Senior Member
    kinglin - Impossible to know without knowing which state you're in! You might try this link to find state residency info. They're all different and some are surprising - like my kids, who live in NY, would be considered KY residents for tuition purposes just because their dad lives there!