Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

What happens if I fail?

kayleealiakayleealia Posts: 454Registered User Member
I'm in my first semester of college and I may be able to fail/have to retake 2/4 of my classes. Would I not be considered a full-time student? I don't know what to do. Do they take away my financial aid after one semester? If they take any of it away, I can't go to school anymore at all, not even a community college.
Post edited by kayleealia on

Replies to: What happens if I fail?

• momofthreeboysmomofthreeboys Posts: 11,706Registered User Senior Member
    Look at the paperwork you received and signed, it should stipulate what you need to do to maintain scholarships. Federal aid depends on "academic progress" so give your finaid office a call and see what that means to your particular situation. Lastly, take a long look at yourself and figure out why you are failing your classes before you take on any(more) debt for college. Until you solve that situation you've got a bigger problem than how to fund college.
  • NorthstarmomNorthstarmom Posts: 24,853Registered User Senior Member
    Another problem is if you fail half of your classes your college will allow you to return for second semester. I agree with momofthreeboys: You need to figure out why your grades are so bad. Use your advisor, college study skills/counseling center and other resources because even if your financial aid continues and the college allows you to stay for another semester, you must overcome your problems with grades or you'll be kicked out after next semester and your only option the will be community college.