Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Who makes more MBA or JD?

JSRJSR Posts: 39Registered User Junior Member
edited November 2011 in Graduate School
I am a very ambitious person and I will admit that even though I love being well educated, wealth is a big driving force for me. I am currently an undergraduate business major and i'm looking to either get a law degree or an MBA. Given 100% effort in either field, which graduate degree will earn me more money?
Post edited by JSR on

Replies to: Who makes more MBA or JD?

• caliphariuscalipharius Posts: 456Registered User Member
    It is highly, highly contingent. I am sure you can adduce aggregate numbers somewhere, but I don't know that they will be indicative of "100% effort."

You can become wealthy by either path. It would be foolhardy to choose the carrer you like less because it does marginally better in the aggregate than the other. You're more likely to be financially successful doing something you enjoy than something you dislike, as it will be harder to keep up 100% effort for the span of an entire career in the latter case.
  • sakkysakky Posts: 14,759- Senior Member
    On average, a JD makes more than an MBA, but that' mostly due to the fact that there are lots and lots of mediocre no-name MBA programs out there. There are also mediocre no-name JD programs out there too, but I doubt that there are as many as there are MBA programs. Hence, the average MBA salaries get dragged down by all the mediocre MBA's.