Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Graduate early or triple-major?

Morgan LMorgan L Registered User Posts: 2 New Member
I am currently a sophomore in college and I am double-majoring in Environmental Science and Geography with a minor in Environmental Sustainability. I will also be earning my certificate in GIS/Geographic Information Systems. I am on track to graduate a year early, however, I was wondering if I should add Geology on as a third major and finish up in a normal four years? If I choose to graduate early, I will head to graduate school and presumably get my masters in Sustainable Management.

My dilemma is that I am attending college on a full-ride scholarship and have a certain amount of free credits. I came into college with some dual credits so if I graduated early, I would still have enough left over for about another semester. I would hate to waste those credits by graduating early, but I can see the pros and cons of both adding a third major and graduating early and pursuing grad school.

Summary of pros and cons:
- I could start grad school and year early and be closer to getting into the workforce
- I would potentially waste a semester of free credit hours
- I would potentially have to pay for a semester of college if I added a third major
- If I graduated early, I would miss out on obtaining a third degree that I have great interest in