Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Best books, websites, etc. for a better GRE score (esp. Analytical Writing)

rmaguirrmaguir Posts: 70Registered User Junior Member
edited April 2008 in Graduate School
I've just decided to retake the GRE due to my surprisingly low Analytical Writing score. That's the main point of this post, yet since I'm going to take the test again, I might as well try to improve my overall score.

Concerning my AW score, I was an English undergrad with a long history of writing papers for political science, history, and lit. theory classes. I've always done well. Yet, on the GRE, I only got a 4. On another post I wrote, someone mentioned not being a good writer and, despite that, having pulled off a 5 after reading a book and doing exactly what it said.

I have two books, though I paid little attention to the sections in those books on AW. In any case, I'm wondering if there are any books that people found particularly helpful for this section.

Concerning the Verbal section, I've heard many people recommending a Barron's book, but I don't know what it's called.

For the Quantitative Section, I'm wondering if there's a book that presents a straightforward list of formulas and principles to remember. I'm good at math (I might be one of few English majors to have taken and done well in high level calculus), but I find it really hard to do it under time constraints. I feel like if I could get my hands on a concise summation of the stuff in the Q section, it would speed up my mental processes.

in the end, any resources you who've taken the test found to be very useful, I'm interested in it.
Post edited by rmaguir on