Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

I want to get into a Neuroscience PhD program and I have a BS in Biology.

Canas8762Canas8762 Posts: 11Registered User New Member
edited July 2013 in Graduate School
I have a 3.26 cumulative gpa, with a 3.1 major gpa. I have one and a half years of research experience. One year for Neuroscience research and 1/2 a year in Chemistry research. I haven't taken the GRE General Exam yet, I'm studying for it now. Oh and I got a D in Biochemistry which was my only D ever. I was wondering if this will prevent me from getting into a Neuroscience PhD program? I'm planning to take the Biochemistry GRE Subject Exam and studying for the exam for 4-5 months.
Post edited by Canas8762 on

Replies to: I want to get into a Neuroscience PhD program and I have a BS in Biology.

• ParAlumParAlum Posts: 439Registered User Member
    what kind of neuroscience graduate program are you interested in?
    Your record as stated does have rough spots and you will need good GREs and very good LORs from your research and undergrad profs. If you are a domestic applicant, you will be able to find a neuroscience grad program, but you may have to look for a program where you are a good fit.
  • Canas8762Canas8762 Posts: 11Registered User New Member