Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Medicine at Harvard

LondonerGirlLondonerGirl Posts: 33Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in Harvard University
Hello,

I would like to apply to Harvard for medicine. I see that through Common App they only list Pre-medicine, does that mean I must list my course as Pre-medicine? Or can I just apply for medicine straight?

Also, if I can apply for medicine straight, where can I find the course code?

Add info: I am an undergraduate, international applicant.

Thank you very much :)

EDIT: Is the course code universal? So will Stanford have the same course code? And are the Harvard and Stanford medicine courses very different or pretty much the same?

(Sorry for the barrage of questions!)
Post edited by LondonerGirl on

Replies to: Medicine at Harvard

• LooshinLooshin Posts: 113Registered User Junior Member
    US applications are very different from the UK's. You can't study Medicine at UG-level. You also apply to the university rather than a specific course, so there aren't any course codes.
  • ChallengedChallenged Posts: 325Registered User Member
    Hi there –

It seems you're very confused about the US application process (I say this in the nicest way possible, sorry if it comes of as harsh!)

The Common Application is nothing like UCAS. For the most part (now there are exceptions) in the USA you apply to the college or university itself, not a major. Secondly, you are not limited to five courses, and may apply (theoretically) to as many as you want.