Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Preparing for Physics?

5pencer5pencer Posts: 442Registered User Junior Member
edited June 2010 in High School Life
Howdy.
I would appreciate a bit of help. Next year at my new school I will have to take General Physics. I have no previous experience in physics, and I was wondering if there may be a good book you would recommend for me so that I can learn some of this before class starts in the fall? Thank you!
Post edited by 5pencer on

Replies to: Preparing for Physics?

• QwertyKeyQwertyKey Posts: 4,590Registered User Senior Member
    Are you trying to be a stronger physics student than the class would prepare you for, or are you worried you're not prepared for the class?

If the former, check out "University Physics," and self study that. If the latter, make sure your Algebra and Trig are solid as best you can.
  • alwayshungryalwayshungry Posts: 124Registered User Junior Member
    First year physics is pretty easy, it's all math basically (and fairly simple algebra and trigonometry at that). If you want an overview of the topics you'll cover, the sparknotes sat II physics is pretty solid: SparkNotes: SAT Physics
  • 5pencer5pencer Posts: 442Registered User Junior Member
    QwertyKey-I am just worried that I'm not gonna be prepared for the class.
    alwayshungry-Thanks!
    I wish for others to see this thread and respond.
  • spdfspdf Posts: 955Registered User Member