Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Does an Indian student have any chance of getting into Ivies ??

reichstagreichstag Registered User Posts: 32 Junior Member
edited November 2011 in India
Hey everyone!
I'm an Indian high school student studying in the CBSE board.I was recently having a look at some of american students who got admitted at the Ivies . I saw that almost each application had some GREAT community service record(...like organizing a rally, volunteering at an hospital..etc)But sadly, community service is not half as respected and valued in India as it in the US. Moreover, Indian students are not encouraged to "waste" the most crucial time of their lives in community service.For example, if a 10th or 12th grade Indian student were to organize a rally or whatever... they would be reprimanded by others for wasting their time in such "trivial" activities. Also, it's really hard for an Indian student to STEP UP and do something for the society. Does this mean that an Indian student has BLEAK chances of getting into the Ivies (if any!) ??
Post edited by reichstag on

Replies to: Does an Indian student have any chance of getting into Ivies ??

• fall2016parentfall2016parent Registered User Posts: 823 Member
    Yes, there are many indian students in ivy. I think being in a feeder school helps. Schools that offer clubs and activities.
    Check this out Delhi Public School R.K. Puram, New Delhi
    LA MARTINIERE FOR GIRLS, KOLKATA