Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

networking or degree???

superman7superman7 Posts: 19Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in India
hello everyone!i am an indian student and will be applying to US universities for fall 2013.i want to pursue computer information systems (BBA) as my major.my uncle recommended me this course as he is a baruch graduate in the same field.i am pretty satisfied with his advice but there is one thing that i am unable to accept. according to him;in USA you dont get jobs on your marks,but it is the networking which gets you a job.by networking he means the more and more connections you make with people,more people are ready to recommend you for a job and hence you become superior to a person with a better university degree and with better marks but no recommendations.so,he adviced me not to go about choosing universities according to its reputation or rank,but choose a university in new york (it doesn't matter that it doesn't hold a rank or nobody's heard of it in india).in short,he recommends me to apply to universities only in new york because of the business connections i can make over there rather than choosing a suburb where i culd just get on campus work.he suggested me some universities-pace,,,hofstra,,,baruch college,,fortham,,,rutgers,,,stony brook,,,saint jones and nyu....
please suggest me whatever you feel on this point and also rate these universities......
Post edited by superman7 on

Replies to: networking or degree???

• superman7superman7 Posts: 19Registered User New Member
    bumpppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
    anyone please???/??
  • IBStudent1234IBStudent1234 Posts: 35Registered User Junior Member