Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
College Confidential’s “Dean,” Sally Rubenstone, put together 25 of her best tips. So far, the "25 Tips from the Dean" eBook has helped more than 10K students choose a college, get in, and pay for it. Get your free copy: http://goo.gl/9zDJTM

Should I move forward or stand still even if I'm walking in the wrong direction

FeeeyyyiiiFeeeyyyiii Registered User Posts: 10 New Member
I am a Nigerian Student who has received various admission packages from various schools in the United States of America. However, I chose to attend the school with the largest financial aid package. Recently I found out the financial aid I have received is not enough as I am 10k+ outstanding. I have requested for a payment plan but without a document from the bank saying I can pay for the full tuition the university can't proceed to process my I-20, without the I-20 I can't get my visa and without a visa I cannot attend university. Now I'm faced with two options, defer my entrance till January or maybe next year this means another year off school. I'm am 19 years old right now and I never expected my life would take a detour in which I could never recover from. The other option is to take a year in another country like Australia, Mauritius, Cyprus or somewhere else. I feel like if I do that I could very easily forfeit my opportunity to go to a great American university. I also know transferring after a year is another journey which I know nothing about. Could someone out there give me some words of advise? I'm