Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

NUS or HKUST for engineering?

VerailaVeraila Posts: 19Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in International Students
Hi there,
I'm an international student going to pursue undergraduate studies and I've applied to NUS and HKUST. I got into HKUST for Chemical Engineering and I got selected for Environment Engineering(my other choice) in NUS. I'm not sure which one to choose....The Chemical Engeering course offered by HKUST is only 3 years long and 120 credits which means I would have to work extra hard to pass with honours whereas the course(Environmental engineering) offered by NUS is four years long and 160 credits which means it would be easier for me to pass with honours...and having an honours degree is impoartant nowadays...also, I want to pursue a course with more chemistry in it...I think Chemical engineering and environmental engineering have both more or less the same amount of chemistry in them, if I'm not wrong......any advice?
Post edited by Veraila on

Replies to: NUS or HKUST for engineering?

• Anand78Anand78 Posts: 131Registered User Junior Member
    hi..
    i am going to pursue chemical engineering at HKUST as well..:D
    i have applied to NUS but havent heard back from them yet..hopefully soon..
    coming to your query,if you had received an offer from NUS for chemical eng then there would be no reason to think twice as NUS wins over HKUST hands down for engineering at the moment but it is very likely to change in the future ..HKUST is also a great engineering school
    i hope you realize that environmental engineering is an extremely limited field and is nothing as deep and broad as chemical engineering ..