Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

people who are shy going into law

mellymelly Posts: 24Registered User New Member
edited October 2009 in Law School
im an undergraduate student and im thinking about maybe in the future going into law one day but ive always been a shy person i was wondering if shy people could manage a career in law and if yes what areas of law could someone who's shy could manage and what areas of law should i stay away from and if anyone here knows someone who shy and has a career in law
Post edited by melly on

Replies to: people who are shy going into law

• greennbluegreennblue Posts: 1,736Registered User Senior Member
    I'm interested in this thread since I know a student who would be good at law, but is very shy. You'd have to at least be able to work with people one-on-one, and be able to tolerate a certain amount of conflict. I imagine that writing wills would be OK, patent law, and real estate would be worth looking into. Stay out of the courtroom.
  • unbelievablemunbelievablem Posts: 1,185Registered User Senior Member
    the issue that a shy person has to carefully consider is not simply the issue of dealing with clients or adversaries. you have to also carefully consider whether you would be able to deal with other lawyers within your own firm. partners can be very demanding. law tends to attract people who are outspoken and quick to voice their opinions. a person who has difficulty speaking up, expressing their views and standing up for them could be at a serious disadvantage even within their own firm.