Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Co-Op at Lehigh

ooVuZeLaooVuZeLa Posts: 30Registered User Junior Member
edited April 2013 in Lehigh University
I have a serious question about the engineering co-op at Lehigh if anybody with experience could share their experience. Is the program good at Lehigh? How hard is it to find a place to work at and does the program make you stand out compared to schools like Northeastern and Drexel that specialize in coops.
Post edited by ooVuZeLa on

Replies to: Co-Op at Lehigh

• LehighChemELehighChemE Posts: 576Registered User Member
    Hi ooVuZeLa,

I'm a Lehigh co-op student who worked as a process engineer at a Philadelphia chemical plant. Lehigh's co-op is elite, and unlike Northeastern and Drexel, it is not open to everybody. To answer your question, it's pretty tough to get a co-op at Lehigh. Only about 200 engineers are invited to participate in interviewing for co-ops (3.0 minimum GPA is required), and ultimately only about 40-50 engineering students get co-ops each year.

Lehigh co-ops are well-respected - unlike some other co-op experiences I've heard of - it actually involves real impactful work. I actually worked with a Drexel co-op during my first rotation and I get the feeling that most Drexel co-ops don't do intensive projects (they seem more like internships). It's just my opinion, but I think the fact that Drexel has made the co-op a mandatory part of its academic experience actually detracts from it as a whole. I think it's better to get a co-op you have to really earn with a good GPA and then fight even harder to get hired in interviews.

Best,

- Mike
  • ooVuZeLaooVuZeLa Posts: 30Registered User Junior Member