Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Mcgill vs. University of Toronto

canroz93canroz93 Posts: 4Registered User New Member
edited April 2011 in McGill University
I know this question was asked before many times but none of the answer given to previous threads satisfied me.
I first would like to describe my case:
I am an international student and was accepted to Electrical Engineering (which was my second choice in my application) in Mcgill and to Mechanical Engineering in University of Toronto. As I want to study Mechanical Engineering in college, University of Toronto seems to be the better choice.

However I still couldn't make a final decision for several reasons.

I heard that Mcgill has a great US style campus but as far as I've seen, University of Toronto does not have one, it is almost no different from NYU, having buildings scattered around in downtown Toronto. For me, social life, school spirit and college life is very important and these are all present in Mcgill but somewhat absent in University of Toronto.

I also might be able to change my major from Electrical Engineering to Mechanical Engineering easily and solve the problem of not studying what I want, but still, I will have to bear Electrical Engineering classes for a year.

As I am an IB student, there is a possibility that I might earn some easy credit from Mcgill but UofT does not offer any credit to IB students.

But University of Toronto has better rankings both in general rankings and engineering rankings.

So my question is: Which university would you choose if you were I?
Post edited by canroz93 on

Replies to: Mcgill vs. University of Toronto

• makakomakako Posts: 72Registered User Junior Member