Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

advice for the socially awkward

screen2011screen2011 Posts: 6Registered User New Member
edited December 2011 in Parent Cafe
Hi!

Anyone have time to read my dilemma? Please help!

Coz you see, my problem is that most of my social interaction are very awkward, and some are really negative. I easily run out of words to say, and I cannot seem to express my opinion very well. I'm beginning to think that some people who had mistreated me in the past were right -- there is something wrong with my intelligence level . Funny thing is I graduated in college with an average GPA through handwork. I don't really struggle at school. I am not the brightest, but I am okay enough that I pass my coursework.

Now, my boss... He doesn't like me. I am the most quiet, extremely shy employee around, and I do my job and leave. I do not really socialize, and I tend to sit in my cubicle all day, except for breaks and lunches. Yesterday, I heard him talk about thinking of firing someone because that person act like a"mindless drone" and that is not good for the office environment. He wants more upbeat people.

I do not know if that's enough reason to fire me, but I am scared...

I had a temp job before and I wasn't offered full-time position because of the same thing.

It keeps happening to me. I try to be a different person. I cannot keep up with that kind of facade. It's tiring, it makes me feel sick .

Am I a hopeless case?
Post edited by screen2011 on

Replies to: advice for the socially awkward

• mamitamamita Posts: 218Registered User Junior Member