Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

mid-career switch to accounting?

john577john577 Posts: 3Registered User New Member
edited June 2013 in Parent Cafe
Any accountants out there that can give me advice on whether I should look further into a mid-career change into accounting? I've been active on the forums before, I'm using this new name to keep my personal situation here separate from my other postings.

I'm an engineer in my early 50's (living in CA) and don't expect my job to last a whole lot longer, certainly not long enough to get to retirement age of 65 or so. My branch of electrical engineering is in declining demand, so when my company has layoffs this area tends to be hit somewhat hard. And there aren't a heck of a lot of openings out there in my field for those that get laid off. I know I could learn a related branch but companies prefer to hire people who have resumes listing experience in the exact area they're being hired for. Plus age discrimination seems to be real in engineering; from people I know it just seems tough to get another job if you're let go after age 50.

So trying to figure out what I can do for the next 15 years or so, I was considering a career change to accounting. I am good at math and business related software like Excel. While I have no accounting experience I did take a couple of Econ classes in college and enjoyed them, for what its worth. There are some Cal-State schools that offer a 1 year Masters in Accounting that qualifies you for the CPA exam so the schooling itself seems to be affordable.