Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Rounding GPA on Resume

numba1numba1 Posts: 85Registered User Junior Member
edited October 2011 in Parent Cafe
I am currently a college student but I decided to ask this question on the parents forum because I figured the people here would have more experience with such matters. Is it acceptable to round your GPA on a resume? Lets say you have a 2.96. Is it ok to list it on your resume as a 3.0?
Post edited by numba1 on

Replies to: Rounding GPA on Resume

• latetoschoollatetoschool Posts: 3,143Registered User Member
    I wouldn't do it. Through an employer's eyes, even the slightest deviation from the truth can/will be interpreted as dishonesty.
  • conyatconyat Posts: 2,519- Junior Member
    Agreed with LTS that you don't want to give any apearance of impropriety.

It would be ok to use a letter grade, though if your school gives them. If that's in the range that's considered a B average at your school, you could say it that way (though if your school gives plusses and minuses you'd have to add that too).

As someone who has reviewed a lot of resumes, I'm not sure you really have to put your GPA. Anyone who wants your GPA is probably going to ask for a transcript any way.

Employers care more about credentials (# of credit hours, degrees earned), since they have specific job eligibility requirements to meet. (I've never seen a job description that called for a particular GPA.)

Prestige of the program probably would also come before GPA. Also be sure to mention any awards or significant accomplishments in ECs that are relevant to the position.
  • mathmommathmom Posts: 22,939Registered User Senior Member
    I never put my GPA on my resume.