Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

I hate college

S89S89 Posts: 5Registered User New Member
edited September 2007 in Parent Cafe
I really didn't want to post this, but I have no where else to turn. Plain and simple, I hate college. I'm a freshman at one of the top LACs and I just don't like it here. First, the classes are very boring and not stimulating at all. I thought that college classes would actually be fun and interesting and intellectually stimulating, but this is not the case at all. Also, I don't really fit in here. Every weekend, everyone just wants to get drunk, do drugs, and hookup. I don't drink, don't do drugs, and would rather a relationship with a person that I really liked than just a random drunken encouther with a stranger and risk getting a STD. This doesn't mean that I don't want to have fun, but I would rather do a fun activity with a few friends than go to crazy parties. The only thing besides drinking seems to be dance parties and I don't like to dance and don't know how to. I'm definitely introverted, but I'm not like really shy. I have "friends" here, but I don't have real friends. I haven't connected with anyone who is really similar to me.
Post edited by S89 on

Replies to: I hate college

• lorelei2702lorelei2702 Posts: 2,103Registered User Senior Member
    Do you live in a dorm? If so, talk to your RA, your Head Resident. Talk to some of the students busy with student activities. Find programs with which you can meet busy, active people. Check out student activities. Talk to the Dean of Students. Reach out...you are not in this alone. There are like minded folks at your school....you were not chosen for their class by accident, you know. Good luck.