Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

trouble sleeping at college

hawaii123hawaii123 Posts: 2Registered User New Member
edited October 2008 in Parent Cafe
I'm a student, but I thought I might get more help here...
I've been at college for a couple of weeks and haven't slept through the night once since I got here. I think I'm just too light a sleeper for college. My dorm is in a central part of campus and right by a bunch of the frats. Even with the windows shut and curtains drawn, I can hear people yelling outside until 3 in the morning, and trucks and motorcycles going by. My roommates make reasonable efforts to be quiet, but even typing and quiet talking in the other room keeps me awake. One roommate has class 2 hours earlier than me, and no matter how quickly she turns off her alarm, it wakes me up enough that I can't go back to sleep. Earplugs didn't help much, listening to calm music with headphones until I'm almost asleep helps somewhat but not enough. I like my roommates and my floor and don't really want to switch dorms, if it's even possible, but I'm half asleep in class and can't function without a nap in the afternoon. Any ideas for either blocking the noise or learning to sleep through it? Thanks.
Post edited by hawaii123 on

Replies to: trouble sleeping at college

• fendrockfendrock Posts: 2,850Registered User Senior Member
    I really sympathize, I had a terrible time sleeping in college as well.

Have you tried a white noise machine? Or sleeping different hours?

I've always been an early to bed, early to rise type, but to try and sleep those hours on a college campus is to fight a losing battle, I'm afraid.