Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Early Admission, Pros & Cons

bayarearesidentbayarearesident Posts: 20Registered User New Member
edited November 2012 in Parents Forum
Hi: My daughter wants to apply to Westmont (CA). Early app is due next week, adn supposedly, it is non-binding?

What are the pros and cons if she applies next week to that school? (other than knowing if she got in early).

I'm new to this and she is my 1st to go to college so I am trying to help her out with info as this year (senior) ...she is busy!

Thanks!
Post edited by bayarearesident on

Replies to: Early Admission, Pros & Cons

• MizzBeeMizzBee Posts: 4,276Registered User Senior Member
    Well, one big pro is knowing early, which can greatly reduce the stress. I cannot emphasize enough how good it felt to know that DS was actually going to college with a solid acceptance. Also, since we were on the hunt for significant merit aid, he was in consideration for the full range of financial aid, including competitive scholarships that required additional essays and applications.

The only con I can see is that if he grades or test scores could benefit from another testing date or grading period it is better to wait.

For your school specifically, it appears that the Monroe Scholarship (full-tuition) picks its applicants only from Early Action, so if you are looking for merit aid and believe your D to be a highly qualified candidate, then waiting could deprive you of participation in the competition for the award.

http://www.westmont.edu/admissions/#monroe-scholarship.html
  • mathmommathmom Posts: 22,898Registered User Senior Member