College Confidential
» CC HOME » FORUM HOME

  College Confidential > College Admissions and Search > Parents Forum
New User

Welcome to College Confidential!
The leading college-bound community on the web
Join for FREE now, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one)!
Discussion Menu
»Discussion Home
»Help & Rules
»Latest Posts
»NEW! CampusVibe™
»Stats Profiles
Top Forums
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Financial Aid
»SAT/ACT
»Parents
»Colleges
»Ivy League
Main CC Site
»College Confidential
»College Search
»College Admissions
»Paying for College
Sponsors
SuperMatch - The Future of College Search!
CampusVibe - Almost As Good As A Campus Visit!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2005, 08:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 44
selling textbooks at booksforcash.com

Has anyone used this online service? My son got a surprisingly good quote for his trig & pre-calc textbooks from this company. They generate a prepaid shipping label and say they will send a check to him same day they receive the books.
Is this legitimate?
likes2draw is offline   Reply   
Old 05-24-2005, 04:25 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tutor and College Counselor in: NYC and Long Island, Internet
Posts: 80
this is a great site to buy books directly from other students on your campus...cuts the bookstore and its high resell prices out of the picture

http://www.dogears.net/
steveistutor is offline   Reply   
Old 05-24-2005, 04:28 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 129
Do you mean www.booksintocash.com?

I have had incredibly good luck with them. They are legitimate and cut you a check as soon as they receive the books. Have probably sold to them a half-dozen times or more.
cleveland is offline   Reply   
Old 05-24-2005, 04:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 994
Quote:
Do you mean www.booksintocash.com?

I have had incredibly good luck with them. They are legitimate and cut you a check as soon as they receive the books. Have probably sold to them a half-dozen times or more.
Checkd out the price for my History textbook and they're quoting only 6 bucks for a high school text book thats selling for 80 usd on amazon.. that's not much
jai6638 is offline   Reply   
Old 05-24-2005, 04:34 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 129
I teach at the college level. My experience with them involves selling clean, brand new desk copies. I should have explained that.

Some books are more in demand than others. I'll sometimes get $25 for a book that sells for $100; sometimes only as little as $8. I figure something is better than nothing if a book isn't going to be put to use. They also refuse to take books, sometimes, if they have too many of them or a new edition is about to come out, for example. I donate those books to the "Books for Africa" project.
cleveland is offline   Reply   
Old 05-24-2005, 08:53 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 44
Yes, it IS www.booksintocash.com! I had the wrong name. I appreciate the many responses as I was just concerned whether this was a scam or not. Sounds like the real thing. And thanks for the info on Books for Africa.
likes2draw is offline   Reply   
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.




Copyright 2001-2011, Hobsons, Inc., All Rights Reserved